Logo

AI-assisted Production Planning

 

 

 

Challenge

Sequence planning in manufacturing has been done manually up to now, and the complexity of taking all the framework conditions
into account is constantly increasing.

 

 

 

Solution

Research and development of an AI application for optimised sequencing using
product and production data.

 

 

 

Added Value

The usable output is optimised and thus the added value is increased by saving time in the manufacturing process.

Air conditioning and ventilation technology, components, devices and system technology: Westaflex is a German family business that has been providing architectural building services and air ducts since 1933. Solutions for a better climate and simplified construction made of aluminium, stainless steel and premium plastics. For every type of building and pipe, there are ventilation systems in many shapes and materials, in different diameters and grooves, so that the systems can be flexibly combined and adapted to the requirements. Accordingly, many different set-up processes are required in production, which in turn requires precise planning. To ensure that everything runs smoothly and as efficiently as possible, the sequence of orders must be planned precisely before production. 

KI-gestützte Fertigungsplanung bei Westaflex

Sequence planning determines the production sequence of individual orders with the aim of making the production process lean, time-saving and thus efficient. Currently, the sequence planning of orders at westaflex is still done manually, for example using spreadsheets or analogue planning boards, and not automatically. Factors such as machining, set-up and delivery times, product specifications, material or the reduction of effort must be taken into account individually. This is very cumbersome to implement: Orders and sequences of machines cannot usually be simply shifted without having to manually adjust the rest of the planning.

Data analysis and AI make for intelligent production planning

The goal is therefore to optimise the sequence planning of production orders with the help of artificial intelligence. For this purpose, a wide variety of data, for example ERP data and real-time data from production, are being evaluated in order to derive indications for optimal machine occupancy and to use these findings for sequence planning.

For this purpose, a data platform is being developed as a web-independent on-premise solution. Order data, resource data, process data, tool/maintenance data, logistical data and monetary data are brought together on the data platform and processed for the AI application. The data platform thus represents an IT infrastructure equipped with interfaces for the plant’s internal data and the data from the AI application. The solution found is implemented and tested with real data, optimised and validated.

Fertigungsplanung_Rillungen_KI_Marktplatz

For the AI Marketplace, this project results in valuable solutions and building blocks in the field of production system development, which also benefit other companies facing similar problems or goals. Westaflex primarily expects this project to optimise the usable output and thus increase
the added value by saving time.

Kontakt

Porträts KI-Marktplatz (6)
Dr. Olaf Knospe
WESTAFLEXwerk GmbH, +49 5241 4013152, olaf.knospe@westa.net
Porträts KI-Marktplatz (7)
Caroline Junker
Fraunhofer IEM, +49 5251 5465187, caroline.junker@iem.fraunhofer.de

Projects

DN_Logo_V_CMYK

AI-assisted Service Engineering

How can service technicians be optimally supported? A pilot project by Diebold Nixdorf Systems together with Fraunhofer IOSB-INA is dedicated to this question. The aim is to develop an AI application that reads and analyzes service and sensor data from ATMs in the field. Based on this, differentiated repair instructions for service technicians are to be generated. An existing service platform will serve as a database.

Learn more
Düspohl

AI-assisted Producibility Analysis

A set-up process in an automated manufacturing process that is optimized with the help of AI and replaces the previously manual “teaching” – this is the core of a project by düspohl Maschinenbau GmbH and the Fraunhofer IEM. In addition, the probable producibility of new product specifications is to be assessed automatically.

Learn more
Hella_Gutmann_Solutions

AI-assisted Diagnosis

At present, vehicle diagnosis in a workshop requires comprehensive automotive knowledge and involves a great deal of work. Hella Gutmann’s aim is therefore to develop an AI application for AI-supported diagnosis and identification of potentially defective vehicle components on the basis of historical vehicle data (e.g. fault codes or sensor readings) and to integrate a further variety of data sources (e.g. invoice data, repair information etc.).

Learn more
ubermetrix

Intelligent Product Monitoring

The goal of Ubermetrics’ project is an AI application that extracts relevant information from unstructured or semi-structured texts (e.g. online ratings, complaint emails, service reports, complaint reports), analyzes it and makes it systematically available to a developer. The application can be used, for example, in the context of targeted optimization of system components.

Learn more
Claas Logo

Integration of AI in Computer Aided Design (CAx)

Artificial Intelligence has the potential to fundamentally change the way we work and operate. CLAAS GmbH & Co. KGaA, an internationally active manufacturer of agricultural machinery, has recognised this potential and is testing a special use case for the integration of AI in Computer Aided Design (CAx) in the AI marketplace together with the Fraunhofer Institutes IEM and IPK.

Learn more

Logo

KI-gestützte Fertigungsplanung

 

 

 

Herausforderung

Die Reihenfolgeplanung in der Fertigung erfolgt bisher manuell, die Komplexität dabei alle Rahmenbedingungen zu berücksichtigen nimmt stetig zu.

 

 

 

Lösung

Erforschung und Entwicklung einer KI-Anwendung für eine optimierte Reihenfolgeplanung mithilfe Produkt- und Produktions-Daten.

 

 

 

Mehrwert

Die Nutzleistung wird optimiert und damit die Wertschöpfung durch Zeitersparnis in der Fertigung erhöht.

Klima- und Lüftungstechnik, Komponenten, Geräte und Systemtechnik. Westaflex ist ein deutsches Familienunternehmen, das seit 1933 in Gütersloh architektonische Haustechnik- und Luftführungen anbietet. Lösungen für besseres Klima und vereinfachtes Bauen aus Alu, Edelstahl und Premium-Kunststoffen. Für jede Gebäudeart und Rohre gibt es Lüftungssysteme in etlichen Formen und Materialien, in unterschiedlichen Durchmessern und unterschiedlichen Rillungen, sodass sich die Systeme flexibel kombinieren und an den Bedarf anpassen lassen. Dementsprechend viele unterschiedliche Rüstvorgänge sind in der Produktion erforderlich, was wiederum eine genaue Planung erfordert. Damit alles reibungslos und so effizient wie möglich verläuft, muss vor der Produktion die Reihenfolge der Aufträge genau geplant werden.

KI-gestützte Fertigungsplanung bei Westaflex

Die Reihenfolgenplanung bestimmt die Produktionsabfolge einzelner Aufträge mit dem Ziel, den Produktionsprozess schlank, zeitsparend und somit effizient zu gestalten. Aktuell geschieht die Reihenfolgenplanung von Aufträgen bei westaflex noch manuell, zum Beispiel per Tabellenkalkulation oder analogen Plantafeln, und nicht automatisiert. Faktoren wie die Bearbeitungs-, Rüst- und Lieferzeiten, Produktspezifikationen, Material oder die Reduktion von Aufwänden müssen individuell berücksichtigt werden. In der Umsetzung ist dies sehr mühsam: Aufträge und Reihenfolgen der Maschinen können meist nicht einfach verschoben werden, ohne die restliche Planung manuell anpassen zu müssen.

Ziel ist es deshalb, die Reihenfolgeplanung von Fertigungsaufträgen mit Hilfe von Künstlicher Intelligenz zu optimieren. Dazu sollen verschiedenste Daten, beispielsweise ERP-Daten und Echtzeitdaten aus der Produktion ausgewertet werden, um Hinweise für die optimale Maschinenbelegung abzuleiten und diese Erkenntnisse für die Reihenfolgeplanung zu nutzen.

Zu diesem Zweck wird eine Datenplattform als web-unabhängige On-Premise-Lösung entwickelt. Auftragsdaten, Ressourcendaten, Prozessdaten, Werkzeug-/Instandhaltungsdaten, logistische Daten, und monetäre Daten werden auf der Datenplattform zusammengeführt und für die KI-Anwendung aufbereitet. Die Datenplattform stellt damit eine mit Schnittstellen ausgestattete IT-Infrastruktur für die werksinternen Daten und die Daten aus der KI-Anwendung dar. Die gefundene Lösung wird implementiert und mit realen Daten getestet, optimiert und validiert.

Fertigungsplanung_Rillungen_KI_Marktplatz

Für den KI-Marktplatz ergeben sich durch dieses Projekt wertvolle Lösungen und Bausteine im Bereich der Produktionssystementwicklung, von denen auch andere Unternehmen profitieren, die vor ähnlichen Problemen oder Zielen stehen. Westaflex verspricht sich von diesem Projekt vor allem die Optimierung der Nutzleistung und damit eine Erhöhung der Wertschöpfung durch Zeitersparnis.

Kontakt

Porträts KI-Marktplatz (6)
Dr. Olaf Knospe
WESTAFLEXwerk GmbH, +49 5241 4013152, olaf.knospe@westa.net
Porträts KI-Marktplatz (7)
Caroline Junker
Fraunhofer IEM, +49 5251 5465187, caroline.junker@iem.fraunhofer.de

Projekte

DN_Logo_V_CMYK

KI-gestütztes Service-Engineering

Wie können Service-Techniker optimal unterstützt werden? Dieser Frage widmet sich ein Pilotprojekt von Diebold Nixdorf Systems gemeinsam mit dem Fraunhofer IOSB-INA. Ziel ist es, eine KI-Anwendung zu entwickeln, die Service- und Sensordaten von Geldautomaten aus dem Feld ausliest und analysiert. Darauf aufbauend sollen differenzierte Reparaturanweisungen für Servicetechniker generiert werden. Als Datenbasis dient eine existierende Serviceplattform.

Mehr erfahren
Claas Logo

Integration von KI in Computer Aided Design (CAx)

Künstliche Intelligenz hat das Potenzial die Art und Weise wie gearbeitet und gewirtschaftet wird grundlegend zu verändern. Dieses Potential hat CLAAS GmbH & Co. KGaA, ein international agierender Landmaschinenhersteller, erkannt und erprobt im KI-Marktplatz gemeinsam mit den Fraunhofer-Instituten IEM und IPK einen speziellen Use Case für die Integration von KI in Computer Aided Design (CAx).

Mehr erfahren
Düspohl

KI-gestützte Herstellbarkeitsanalyse

In diesem Projekt soll ein Einrichtprozess in einem automatisierten Fertigungsprozess mithilfe von KI optimiert werden und das bisher noch manuelle „Einteachen“ ablösen. Darüber hinaus soll die voraussichtliche Herstellbarkeit neuer Produktspezifikationen automatisiert beurteilt werden können. Dieses Pilotprojekt wird von düspohl Maschinenbau GmbH und dem Fraunhofer IEM vorangetrieben.

Mehr erfahren
ubermetrix

Intelligente Produktbeobachtung

Ziel des Projektes von Ubermetrics ist eine KI-Anwendung, die relevante Informationen aus unstrukturierten oder semi-strukturierten Texten (z.B. Onlinebewertungen, Beschwerde-Emails, Serviceberichte, Reklamationsreports) extrahiert, analysiert und einem Entwickler systematisch verfügbar macht. Die Anwendung kann beispielsweise im Rahmen der gezielten Optimierung von Systemkomponenten genutzt werden.

Mehr erfahren
Hella_Gutmann_Solutions

KI-gestützte Diagnose

Derzeit setzt die Fahrzeugdiagnose in einer Werkstatt umfassende KFZ-Kenntnisse voraus und ist mit einem umfangreichen Arbeitsaufwand verbunden. Ziel von Hella Gutmann ist es daher, eine KI-Anwendung zur KI-gestützten Diagnose und Identifikation potentiell defekter KFZ-Bauteile auf Grundlage historischer Fahrzeugdaten (z.B. Fehlercodes, Sensormesswerte und KM-Stände) zu entwickeln und dabei eine weitere Vielzahl an Datenquellen (z.B. Rechnungsdaten, Reparaturinformationen etc.) zu integrieren.

Mehr erfahren