Logo

AI-assisted Diagnosis

 

 

 

Challenge

Vehicle diagnosis currently requires extensive prior knowledge and a lot of time.

 

 

 

Solution

Development of a process
for automated detection of potentially defective components in a vehicle with the help of AI.

 

 

 

Added Value

The complexity due to different vehicle types can be better managed and the performance of vehicle diagnostics thus becomes more efficient.

The company Hella Gutmann develops intelligent solutions for the repair and maintenance of cars and motorbikes of all makes and models, especially in cooperation with independent garages.

In the AI Marketplace, the company’s primary focus is AI-assisted vehicle diagnostics. Traditionally, potentially defective components in the vehicle are identified using fault codes and sensor values. Currently, a mechanic needs a lot of time in the workshop as well as extensive automotive knowledge in order to make a well-founded diagnosis on the basis of read-out error codes or measured sensor values (e.g. injection quantity). In addition, a large number of different vehicle brands are repaired in independent workshops, which increases the complexity.

Detecting defective components automatically with AI

The aim of this project is to develop and test methods for the automated detection of potentially defective components in the vehicle using artificial intelligence. In particular, suitable methods for data pre-processing and the training of machine learning models with the help of vehicle data
(fault codes, sensor readings and KM states) are to be developed and validated.

Furthermore, it is examined whether common models from the field of machine learning are suitable for application to vehicle diagnostics. Finally, these models are integrated into a prediction model for defective components. This prediction model will be optimised step by step through feedback from automotive experts and transferred into a demonstrator for AI-assisted vehicle diagnostics.

A demonstrator for the AI Marketplace

With this project, Hella Gutmann is developing a demonstrator in the form of a service that uses machine learning models to provide a list of potentially defective components for a specific automotive diagnostic case. In the future, the integration of this service into a product is planned. With the help of this AI solution, it will be possible in future for mechanics to better manage the complexity that arises from different vehicle types and thus also to carry out vehicle diagnostics significantly faster.

Contact

Porträts KI-Marktplatz (5)
David Aymanns
Hella Gutmann Solutions GmbH, David.Aymanns@hella-gutmann.com
Porträts KI-Marktplatz (4)
Ruslan Bernijazov
Fraunhofer Institute for Mechatronic Systems Design IEM, Ruslan.bernijazov@iem.fraunhofer.de

Projects

Westaflex_RGB-1-1024×156

AI-assisted Production Planning

The project of Westaflex in cooperation with the Fraunhofer IEM focuses on an AI application that helps to optimize the sequence planning of production orders. For this purpose, real-time data from production control as well as from machines are to be evaluated in order to extract hints for optimal machine allocations.

Learn more
ubermetrix

Intelligent Product Monitoring

The goal of Ubermetrics’ project is an AI application that extracts relevant information from unstructured or semi-structured texts (e.g. online ratings, complaint emails, service reports, complaint reports), analyzes it and makes it systematically available to a developer. The application can be used, for example, in the context of targeted optimization of system components.

Learn more
Düspohl

AI-assisted Producibility Analysis

A set-up process in an automated manufacturing process that is optimized with the help of AI and replaces the previously manual “teaching” – this is the core of a project by düspohl Maschinenbau GmbH and the Fraunhofer IEM. In addition, the probable producibility of new product specifications is to be assessed automatically.

Learn more
Claas Logo

Integration of AI in Computer Aided Design (CAx)

Artificial Intelligence has the potential to fundamentally change the way we work and operate. CLAAS GmbH & Co. KGaA, an internationally active manufacturer of agricultural machinery, has recognised this potential and is testing a special use case for the integration of AI in Computer Aided Design (CAx) in the AI marketplace together with the Fraunhofer Institutes IEM and IPK.

Learn more
DN_Logo_V_CMYK

AI-assisted Service Engineering

How can service technicians be optimally supported? A pilot project by Diebold Nixdorf Systems together with Fraunhofer IOSB-INA is dedicated to this question. The aim is to develop an AI application that reads and analyzes service and sensor data from ATMs in the field. Based on this, differentiated repair instructions for service technicians are to be generated. An existing service platform will serve as a database.

Learn more

Logo

KI-gestützte Diagnose

 

 

 

Herausforderung

Die Fahrzeugdiagnose erfordert aktuell umfangreiches Vorwissen sowie viel Zeit.

 

 

 

Lösung

Einwicklung eines Verfahrens zur automatisierten Erkennung potenziell defekter Bauteile im Fahrzeug mit Hilfe von KI.

 

 

 

Mehrwert

Die Komplexität aufgrund unterschiedlicher Fahrzeugtypen ist besser beherrschbar und die Durchführung der Fahrzeugdiagnose wird somit effizienter.

Das Unternehmen Hella Gutmann entwickelt intelligente Lösungen für die Reparatur und Wartung von Autos und Motorrädern aller Marken und Modelle, insbesondere in Zusammenarbeit mit freien Werkstätten.

Im KI-Marktplatz widmet sich das Unternehmen vor allem der KI-gestützten Fahrzeugdiagnose. Herkömmlich werden potenziell defekte Bauteile im Fahrzeug anhand von Fehlercodes und Sensorwerten ermittelt. Aktuell benötigt ein Mechaniker dafür in der Werkstatt viel Zeit sowie umfangreiches KFZ-Wissen, um auf Basis von ausgelesenen Fehlercodes oder gemessenen Sensormesswerten (zum Beispiel Einspritzmenge) eine fundierte Diagnose zu erstellen. Hinzu kommt, dass in freien Werkstätten eine Vielzahl an verschiedenen Fahrzeugmarken repariert werden und somit die Komplexität verstärkt wird.

Das Ziel dieses Projekts ist es, Verfahren zur automatisierten Erkennung potenziell defekter Bauteile im Fahrzeug mit Hilfe Künstlicher Intelligenz zu entwickeln und zu erproben. Dazu sollen insbesondere geeignete Verfahren zur Datenvorverarbeitung sowie dem Trainieren von Machine Learning Modellen mit Hilfe von Fahrzeugdaten (Fehlercodes, Sensormesswerte und KM-Stände) entwickelt und validiert werden.

Des Weiteren wird geprüft, ob gängige Modelle aus dem Bereich des Maschinellen Lernens für die Anwendung auf die Fahrzeugdiagnose geeignet sind. Zuletzt werden diese Modelle zu einem Vorhersagemodell für defekte Bauteile integriert. Dieses Vorhersagemodell wird durch Feedback von KFZ-Experten schrittweise optimiert  und in einen Demonstrator für die KI-gestützte Fahrzeugdiagnose überführt.

Hella Gutmann entwickelt mit diesem Projekt einen Demonstrator in Form eines Services, der mit Hilfe von Machine Learning Modellen für einen bestimmten KFZ Diagnosefall eine Liste an potenziell defekten Bauteilen liefert. Für die Zukunft ist die Integration dieses Services in ein Produkt angedacht. Mithilfe dieser KI-Lösung wird es Mechanikern zukünftig möglich sein, die Komplexität, die durch unterschiedliche Fahrzeugtypen entsteht, besser zu beherrschen und somit auch die Fahrzeugdiagnose deutlich schneller durchzuführen.

Kontakt

Porträts KI-Marktplatz (5)
David Aymanns
Hella Gutmann Solutions GmbH, David.Aymanns@hella-gutmann.com
Porträts KI-Marktplatz (4)
Ruslan Bernijazov
Fraunhofer IEM, Ruslan.bernijazov@iem.fraunhofer.de

Projekte

Düspohl

KI-gestützte Herstellbarkeitsanalyse

In diesem Projekt soll ein Einrichtprozess in einem automatisierten Fertigungsprozess mithilfe von KI optimiert werden und das bisher noch manuelle „Einteachen“ ablösen. Darüber hinaus soll die voraussichtliche Herstellbarkeit neuer Produktspezifikationen automatisiert beurteilt werden können. Dieses Pilotprojekt wird von düspohl Maschinenbau GmbH und dem Fraunhofer IEM vorangetrieben.

Mehr erfahren
DN_Logo_V_CMYK

KI-gestütztes Service-Engineering

Wie können Service-Techniker optimal unterstützt werden? Dieser Frage widmet sich ein Pilotprojekt von Diebold Nixdorf Systems gemeinsam mit dem Fraunhofer IOSB-INA. Ziel ist es, eine KI-Anwendung zu entwickeln, die Service- und Sensordaten von Geldautomaten aus dem Feld ausliest und analysiert. Darauf aufbauend sollen differenzierte Reparaturanweisungen für Servicetechniker generiert werden. Als Datenbasis dient eine existierende Serviceplattform.

Mehr erfahren
Claas Logo

Integration von KI in Computer Aided Design (CAx)

Künstliche Intelligenz hat das Potenzial die Art und Weise wie gearbeitet und gewirtschaftet wird grundlegend zu verändern. Dieses Potential hat CLAAS GmbH & Co. KGaA, ein international agierender Landmaschinenhersteller, erkannt und erprobt im KI-Marktplatz gemeinsam mit den Fraunhofer-Instituten IEM und IPK einen speziellen Use Case für die Integration von KI in Computer Aided Design (CAx).

Mehr erfahren
Westaflex_RGB-1-1024×156

KI-gestützte Fertigungsplanung

Im Fokus des Projektes von Westaflex mit dem Fraunhofer IEM steht eine KI-Anwendung, mit deren Hilfe die Reihenfolgenplanung von Fertigungsaufträgen optimiert wird. Dazu sollen Echtzeitdaten aus der Produktionssteuerung sowie von Maschinen ausgewertet werden, um Hinweise für die optimalen Maschinenbelegungen zu extrahieren.

Mehr erfahren
ubermetrix

Intelligente Produktbeobachtung

Ziel des Projektes von Ubermetrics ist eine KI-Anwendung, die relevante Informationen aus unstrukturierten oder semi-strukturierten Texten (z.B. Onlinebewertungen, Beschwerde-Emails, Serviceberichte, Reklamationsreports) extrahiert, analysiert und einem Entwickler systematisch verfügbar macht. Die Anwendung kann beispielsweise im Rahmen der gezielten Optimierung von Systemkomponenten genutzt werden.

Mehr erfahren