Our Vision

The quality and efficiency of product development processes can be significantly increased through the use of Artificial Intelligence.

Whether automating technology scouting or optimizing design data – the potential of Artificial Intelligence in product creation is manifold. Product creation is the driving force behind product innovations in Germany and was responsible for sales of around €710 billion in 2015. In addition, product creation is decisive for the later production costs, as up to 85% of the manufacturing costs are already determined here.

Zwei junge Kollegen betrachten eine digitale Modelldarstellung

Why AI in Product Creation?

Icon_Entwicklungskapazitäten
Increase Development Capacities
With AI in product development, capacities are freed up that you can use for other product ideas.
Icon_Herstellkosten
Reduce Manufacturing Costs
A large part of the manufacturing costs of a product are determined during the product creation process. Avoiding errors with AI can save you a lot of money.
Icon_Entwicklungszeit
Reduce Development Time
With AI in product development you can outsource tasks and concentrate on the essential tasks. This enables you to bring your products to market faster.
Icon_Innovationspotenzial
Increase Innovation Potential
Automating low-impact busywork by AI create more space for innovations, and therefore, increases the innovation potential.

Bridging the gap between product creation and AI is therefore absolutely necessary to tap this potential. However, manufacturing companies often lack the resources and expertise to use AI profitably.  Solution providers in turn lack access to customers or the necessary domain knowledge. This is exactly where the AI Marketplace comes in, by creating a platform for suppliers and customers, and in particular by supporting small and medium-sized businesses in making Artificial Intelligence usable for them.

Our ecosystem provides Artificial Intelligence for engineering work and thus revolutionizes product creation.

As a nucleus for the growing ecosystem “AI in product creation”, the AI Marketplace supports the development of new AI solutions via its digital platform. This can only succeed if trust and partnership are also transferred to the digital world. Only this way can we ensure that the necessary data basis for AI applications is created. We therefore rely on certified standards that guarantee data sovereignty and at the same time form the basis for fair cooperation.

Each partner/user should participate appropriately in the success of the ecosystem. In doing so, we rely on a successive expansion of the functionalities – starting with an intelligent partner mediation, a protected data room and a marketplace for AI applications and AI building blocks. The AI Marketplace supports all players within the ecosystem with needs-based solutions and links to the entire R&D value chain in order to transfer basic research into applications.

Voices from the Field

Armin Hagemeier, Co-Founder of Hadoco talks about chances for startups on the AI Marketplace.

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Volker Lohweg, Institute for Industrial Automation Technology, explains the benefit of platforms for the exchange of data and algorithms.

Dr. Christian Dülme, Business Development Manager at Weidmüller, explains the importance of transparency and interoperability.

Four Expansion Stages

icon-puzzle
Stage 1: Intelligent Matching
The platform brings manufacturing companies together with AI providers via an “intelligent matching service”. To this end, the providers of AI solutions create competence profiles and companies undergo an analysis to determine AI potential. By comparing competences and potentials, proposals for suitable partnerships are automatically derived. The first use cases to be developed and tested in the pilot projects are AI applications for product creation.
icon-burg
Stage 2: Protected Data Space
Very often we lack access to reliable data for the development and training of algorithms. The AI Marketplace provides a protected data room for development and test data to continuously improve AI applications and adapt them to customer needs. Another challenge in the development of AI applications for product creation is the sensitivity of the data. The AI Marketplace addresses this fact by implementing a reference architecture of the International Data Spaces Association, which guarantees data security and sovereignty.
icon-tabelet
Stage 3: App-Store for AI Solutions
Based on the intelligent matching service, the protected data space and the growing ecosystem, the AI Marketplace will be extended by an app store for product creation. It will provide concrete AI applications that can be used by manufacturing companies with a manageable amount of adaptation. The scope of the store will range from simple assistance functions to complex AI applications.
icon-wuerfel
Stage 4: Toolkit for AI
The construction of a toolkit allows standardized AI modules to be combined with each other. In this way, even small and medium-sized companies are enabled in the long term to compile AI applications themselves and integrate them into their processes through the “plug and play” principle, without having to hire a service provider each time.

Unsere Vision

Durch den Einsatz Künstlicher Intelligenz können die Qualität und Effizienz von Produktentstehungsprozessen deutlich gesteigert werden. Ob eine Automatisierung des Technologie-Scoutings oder die Optimierung von Konstruktionsdaten – die Potenziale Künstlicher Intelligenz in der Produktentstehung sind vielfältig. Die Produktentstehung ist die treibende Kraft hinter Produktinnovationen in Deutschland und war im Jahr 2015 für einen Umsatz von rund 710 Mrd. € verantwortlich. Darüber hinaus ist die Produktentstehung entscheidend für die späteren Produktionskosten, da hier bereits bis zu 85% der Herstellungskosten festgelegt werden.

Der Brückenschlag zwischen Produktentstehung und Künstlicher Intelligenz ist also unbedingt notwendig, um dieses Potenzial zu erschließen. Allerdings fehlt es produzierenden Unternehmen häufig an Ressourcen und Expertise, um KI gewinnbringend für sich einzusetzen.  Lösungsanbietern fehlt wiederum der Zugang zu Kunden oder das nötige Domänenwissen. Genau hier setzen wir mit dem KI-Marktplatz an, indem wir eine Plattform für Anbieter und Nachfrager schaffen, und insbesondere den Mittelstand unterstützen, Künstliche Intelligenz für sich nutzbar zu machen.

Unser Ökosystem stellt Künstliche Intelligenz für Ingenieursarbeit zur Verfügung und revolutioniert so die Produktentstehung.

Als Keimzelle für das wachsende Ökosystem „KI in der Produktentstehung“ unterstützt der KI-Marktplatz über seine digitale Plattform die Entwicklung neuer KI-Lösungen. Dies kann nur dann gelingen, wenn Vertrauen und partnerschaftliches Handeln auch auf die digitale Welt übertragen werden. Nur so können wir sicherstellen, dass die notwendige Datenbasis für KI-Anwendungen geschaffen wird. Wir setzen daher auf zertifizierte Standards, die Datensouveränität gewährleisten und gleichzeitig die Grundlage für eine faire Kooperation bilden.

Jeder Teilnehmer soll angemessen am Erfolg des Ökosystems partizipieren. Dabei setzen wir auf eine sukzessive Erweiterung der Funktionalitäten – angefangen bei einer intelligenten Partnervermittlung, über einen geschützten Datenraum bis hin zum Marktplatz für KI-Anwendungen und KI-Bausteine. Der KI-Marktplatz unterstützt alle Akteure im Ökosystem mit bedarfsgerechten Lösungen und knüpft an die gesamte F&E-Wertschöpfungskette an, um Grundlagenforschung in die Anwendung zu überführen.

Der KI-Marktplatz bringt Anwender, Lösungsanbieter und KI-Experten zusammen, um die Potentiale von KI für die Produktentstehung zu erschließen.

Stimmen aus der Praxis

Wir haben Unternehmensvertreter, Forscher und Jungunternehmer gefragt, wo sie die Chancen und Potenziale einer digitalen Plattform sehen. Es gibt viele – sehen Sie selbst.

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Volker Lohweg, Institut für Industrielle Automationstechnik, zu dem Nutzen einer Plattform für den Austausch von Daten und Algorithmen.

Armin Hagemeier, Co-Founder von Hadoco über die Chancen für Start-ups auf dem KI-Marktplatz.

Dr. Christian Dülme, Business Development Manager bei Weidmüller, über die Wichtigkeit von Transparenz und Interoperabiliät.

Die vier Ausbaustufen

Intelligentes Matching

Auf der Plattform werden produzierende Unternehmen mit KI-Anbietern über ein „intelligentes Matching“ zusammengebracht. Dafür legen die Anbieter von KI-Lösungen Kompetenzprofile an und Unternehmen durchlaufen eine Analyse zur Ermittlung von KI-Potenzialen. Durch einen Abgleich von Kompetenzen und Potenzialen werden automatisch Vorschläge für passende Partnerschaften abgeleitet. Als erste Anwendungsfälle werden in den Pilotprojekten KI-Anwendungen für die Produktentstehung entwickelt und erprobt.

Geschützter Datenraum für die Produktentstehung

Häufig mangelt es an Zugang zu verlässlichen Daten für die Entwicklung und das Training von Algorithmen. Der KI-Marktplatz stellt einen geschützten Datenraum für Entwicklungs- und Testdaten zur Verfügung, um KI-Anwendungen stetig zu verbessern und an die Kundenbedürfnisse anzupassen. Eine weitere Herausforderung bei der Entwicklung von KI-Anwendungen für die Produktentstehung ist die Sensibilität der Daten. Der KI-Marktplatz adressiert diesen Umstand durch die Implementierung einer Referenzarchitektur der International Data Spaces Association, die Datensicherheit und -souveränität gewährleistet.

App-Store rund um KI-Anwendungen

Aufbauend auf der intelligenten Partnervermittlung, dem geschützten Datenraum sowie dem wachsenden Ökosystem wird der KI-Marktplatz um einen App-Store für die Produktentstehung erweitert. Darin werden konkrete KI-Anwendungen bereitgestellt, die mit überschaubarem Anpassungsaufwand von produzierenden Unternehmen genutzt werden können. Der Umfang des Stores wird von einfachen Assistenzfunktionen bis hin zu komplexen KI-Anwendungen reichen.

Baukasten für KI in der Produktentstehung

Durch den Aufbau eines Toolkits können standardisierte KI-Bausteine miteinander kombiniert werden. So werden auch kleine und mittelständische Unternehmen langfristig in die Lage versetzt, durch das „Plug and Play“-Prinzip KI-Anwendungen selbst zusammenzustellen und in ihre Prozesse zu integrieren, ohne dass sie dafür jedes Mal einen Dienstleister beauftragen müssen.

×
×

Warenkorb