How a software facilitates the start of the AI Marketplace

“More than half of all companies fail in business model development because they reduce complexity instead of leveraging it,” says Marvin Wiest, founder and Co-CEO of Ventecon. His mission is to bring business models to life through the ‘Network-Based View’ – a new approach to business model development.

In his childhood Wiest built tree houses, founded soccer clubs, developed his own card games and dreamed of becoming an inventor. Today he analyzes and simulates market interventions with his own software. Then as now at his side: Patrick Beckedorf. With him, Wiest fulfilled his childhood dream last year and founded the Karlsruhe-based start-up company Ventecon.

Software structures complex markets

For their view of networks, the two young entrepreneurs rely on Ventecon’s network mining software: a program that structures complex markets and provides an overview of roles, players and their relationships in the respective value network.

How can this software help the AI Marketplace to succeed? Since the end of April, Ventecon has been a partner in the AI marketplace project and is taking a close look at the AI market. “In the AI Marketplace, we are using the software to analyze the AI market in a first step and to see what the impact will be if we place our AI marketplace in this market,” says Leon Özcan, Project Manager of the AI Marketplace.

Proven methodology

Katrin Menke from UNITY is responsible for modeling and analyzing the value-added network with the software. The management consultancy for innovation and digital transformation is a consortium partner in the project. At UNITY the (re-)design and analysis of value-added networks is a proven methodology for business model testing and development.

“In recent years market players have become increasingly networked, especially in B2B business. As a result, the complexity in the respective markets has increased significantly,” the expert explains. Ventecon’s software makes it possible to clearly display this complexity and the dynamics of the AI market and to make it usable for the planned AI marketplace. The insights gained from the analyses are directly incorporated into the business model development of the AI marketplace.

Deriving findings

Using Ventecon’s software, UNITY first models the AI market without the AI marketplace in an iterative process. “We want to find out the relationships between the various roles in the market and the mechanisms that work between them,” explains Katrin Menke. She was surprised by the high fragmentation of the AI market. In order to obtain as real a picture of the market as possible, she is in close exchange with her UNITY colleagues, Ventecon and other AI marketplace partners for modeling and analysis.

“Implicit knowledge can be made explicit via a digital whiteboard, already existing data can be imported via a sophisticated plug-in system of the software,” says Markus Lau, Business Developer at Ventecon.

Order by mouse click

With a mouse click, the network appears as a clear map, each role is shown as a circle. All circles are connected with lines. The lines represent the value streams between the roles. Four colors stand for four clusters, which Katrin Menke identified with the help of the software: Infrastructure, value creation, regulating roles, communication.

“The roles in the clusters show similar interaction patterns and their value promises are related in terms of content,” explains Katrin Menke. What is noticeable is that some circles are larger than the others.

These roles are central to the AI marketplace

These roles appear to be particularly relevant for the overall network after an automated structure analysis has been performed. AI developers and implementers, as well as the manucfacturing industry, data scientists and business consultants, bundle and share a lot of information. She doesn’t want to reveal any more, since there is no such analysis of the AI market yet. But one thing is clear: “The network is highly relevant for the business model of the AI marketplace,” says Katrin Menke.

Outlook

Based on the data entered and with the help of Artificial Intelligence, the next step will be to investigate the effects of the AI marketplace becoming part of the current AI market. “The goal is to be able to use the data to demonstrate various scenarios as to how the business model of the AI marketplace can work particularly well in the AI market,” says Ventecon founder Marvin Wiest.

With the help of the network map, it is now possible to understand and evaluate the market better than before, identify profitable business cases and derive recommendations for operationalization. But the last word in the development of business models is still in the hands of people.

“We don’t want to replace human intelligence, but rather expand it by means of artificial intelligence,” explains Ventecon founder Patrick Beckedorf. “So that even in a volatile, uncertain, complex and ambiguous world, we have confidence in our business model

Further information
www.ventecon.de
www.unity.de

News & Events

Beitragsbild Hinterland Hack

Hinterland Hack brings new ideas for the AI Marketplace

Seven companies, over 60 participants, 48 hours of hacking and 5,000 euros for the winning team – that's the Hinterland Hack 2021 in a nutshell. Also there as a challenge owner – the AI Marketplace.

Beitragsbild Website_AI Day

📅 AI Day – How AI redesigns Product Creation

Artificial intelligence (AI) in product creation holds great potential for economic growth and increased productivity. The AI Day hosted by it's OWL and prostep ivip will demonstrate concrete examples.

Beitragsbild_Paper

AI in product creation – what does current research say?

Where is artificial intelligence used in product creation and where is it suitable to work with data-centric methods? By analyzing 40 existing studies and 94 […]

KI Marktplatz trifft UNITY final

📅 AI Marketplace meets UNITY

The virtual event “AI Marketplace meets UNITY” focuses on the potentials and challenges in the use of AI solutions from our customer environment. In addition to an impulse for building an AI strategy and good practices for the development of data-driven products, the success story “ServiceNavigator” will also be highlighted.

Beitragsbild Hinterland hack

📅 Hinterland Hack 2021

Build your business model for a real industry challenge. Validate your business case in 48 hours. Partner with global players of German Mittelstand and get your startup on the grid. Apply now and make it happen!

Beitragsbild Website

📅 Inside it's OWL: AI Marketplace

Get to know the challenges, potentials and interim results of artificial intelligence and product creation and discuss fields of application and implementation possibilities in the real environment with experts from science and business.

Beitragsbild_AIM_IDSA

📅 AI Marketplace meets IDSA

The upcoming virtual event “AI Marketplace Meets IDSA” is all about data spaces and will be co-hosted by the AI Marketplace and the International Data Spaces Association.

Beitragsbild Whitepaper

FIWARE Whitepaper: AI Marketplace as a showcase for Digital Transformation

A white paper of our partner FIWARE Foundation focusses on the role played by artificial intelligence (AI) in shaping the future experience of Smart Cities. It also showcases projects such as the AI Marketplace and how they are introducing the relevant framework for the creation of data spaces.

Datathon_Winner_2

AI Marketplace and AI Living Lab celebrate successful datathon premiere

“Turning data into gold” – that was the credo of the Industrial Datathon , jointly organized by the AI Marketplace and the AI Living Lab. Around 30 heads raced last week to solve real challenges from industry. The win – an implementation project in the AI Real Lab – came as a surprise to the winning team.

Ökosystem_hell

More than a platform – AI offerings for SMEs

Analyses, quick checks and expert feedback: Take advantage of our free AI offerings for your company. There are already free services that small and medium-sized companies in particular can use to tap the potential of artificial intelligence (AI) in product creation.

Beitrag_Webinar_FIWARE

📅 AI Marketplace meets FIWARE

The upcoming virtual event “AI Marketplace meets FIWARE”, within the FIWARE AI DAY, will focus on how open source-based AI marketplaces can unlock benefits for AI offerings, especially in the product development space.

ki-marktplatz_launch

Ready – steady – GO! AI Marketplace Platform goes live

Post challenges, find solutions, gather know-how: all this is promised by the AI Marketplace – the digital platform for tomorrow’s innovations. For the past year, […]

So erleichtert eine Software den Start des KI-Marktplatzes

„Mehr als die Hälfte aller Unternehmen scheitern in der Geschäftsmodellentwicklung, weil sie Komplexität reduzieren, anstatt sie zu nutzen“, sagt Marvin Wiest, Gründer und Co-CEO von Ventecon. Er hat es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht Geschäftsmodelle durch den ‚Network-Based View‘ – einem neuen Ansatz der Geschäftsmodellentwicklung – zum Fliegen zu bringen.

In seiner Kindheit hat Wiest Baumhäuser gebaut, Fußballclubs gegründet, eigene Kartenspiele entwickelt und träumte davon Erfinder zu werden. Heute analysiert und simuliert er Marktinterventionen, mit seiner eigenen Software. Damals wie heute an seiner Seite: Patrick Beckedorf. Mit ihm hat Wiest sich im vergangenen Jahr seinen Kindheitstraum erfüllt und das Karlsruher Start-up-Unternehmen Ventecon gegründet.

Software strukturiert komplexe Märkte

Für ihren Blick auf die Netzwerke greifen die beiden Jungunternehmer auf Ventecons Network Mining Software zurück: Ein Programm, das komplexe Märkte strukturiert und einen Überblick über Rollen, Akteure und deren Beziehungen im jeweiligen Wertschöpfungsnetzwerk verschafft.

Wie kann diese Software dem KI-Marktplatz zum Erfolg verhelfen? Seit Ende April ist Ventecon Partner im Projekt KI-Marktplatz und nimmt den Markt für KI genau unter die Lupe. „Im KI-Marktplatz nutzen wir die Software, um in einem ersten Schritt den Markt für KI zu analysieren und einem zweiten Schritt zu sehen, welche Auswirkungen es hat, wenn wir in diesem Markt unseren KI-Marktplatz platzieren“, sagt Leon Özcan, Projektleiter des KI-Marktplatzes.

Bewährte Methodik

Die Modellierung und Analyse des Wertschöpfungsnetzes mit der Software obliegt dabei Katrin Menke von UNITY. Die Managementberatung für Innovation und Digitale Transformation ist Konsortialpartner im Projekt. Die (Re-)Konstruktion und Analyse von Wertschöpfungsnetzen ist bei UNITY eine bewährte Methodik der Geschäftsmodellprüfung und -entwicklung.

„In den vergangenen Jahren haben sich die Marktakteure immer mehr vernetzt, insbesondere im B2B-Geschäft. Damit ist die Komplexität in den jeweiligen Märkten deutlich gestiegen“, erläutert die Expertin. Die Software von Ventecon ermögliche es, diese Komplexität und die Dynamik des KI-Marktes übersichtlich darzustellen und sie für den geplanten KI-Marktplatz nutzbar zu machen. Die aus den Analysen gewonnenen Erkenntnisse fließen direkt in die Geschäftsmodellentwicklung des KI-Marktplatzes ein.

Erkenntnisse ableiten

Mit Hilfe der Software von Ventecon modelliert UNITY in einem iterativen Prozess zunächst den KI-Markt ohne den KI-Marktplatz. „Wir möchten herausfinden, in welcher Beziehungen die verschiedenen Rollen im Markt zueinanderstehen und welche Mechanismen zwischen ihnen wirken“, erklärt Katrin Menke. Überrascht habe sie dabei die hohe Fragmentierung des KI-Marktes. Um ein möglichst reales Abbild des Marktes zu erlangen, steht sie für die Modellierung und Analyse im engen Austausch mit ihren UNITY-Kollegen, Ventecon und weiteren KI-Marktplatz-Partnern.

„Über ein digitales Whiteboard kann implizites Wissen explizit gemacht werden, bereits vorhandene Daten können über ein ausgefeiltes Plugin-System der Software eingespielt werden“, sagt Markus Lau, Business Developer von Ventecon.

Ordnung per Mausklick

Per Mausklick erscheint das Netzwerk als übersichtliche Karte, jede Rolle wird als Kreis abgebildet. Alle Kreise sind mit Linien verbunden. Die Linien stellen die Wertströme zwischen den Rollen dar. Vier Farben stehen für vier Cluster, die Katrin Menke mit Hilfe der Software identifiziert hat: Infrastruktur, Wertschöpfung, regulierende Rollen, Kommunikation.

„Die Rollen in den Clustern zeigen ähnliche Interaktionsmuster und ihre Werteversprechen hängen inhaltlich zusammen“, erklärt Katrin Menke. Was auffällt: Ein paar Kreise sind größer als die anderen.

Diese Rollen sind für den KI-Marktplatz zentral

Diese Rollen erscheinen nach Durchführung einer automatisierten Struktur-Analyse für das Gesamtnetzwerk besonders relevant. So bündeln und teilen vor allem ‚AI-Developer und -Implementer, sowie die ‚Manucfacturing Industry‘, ‚Data Scientist‘ und das ‚Business Consulting‘ viele Informationen. Mehr möchte sie nicht verraten, schließlich gebe es so eine Analyse des KI-Marktes noch nicht. Eins sei aber klar: „Für das Geschäftsmodell des KI-Marktplatzes ist das Netzwerk von hoher Relevanz“, sagt Katrin Menke.

Ausblick

Auf Grundlage der eingepflegten Daten und mit Hilfe von Künstlicher Intelligenz wird im nächsten Schritt untersucht, welche Auswirkungen es hat, wenn der KI-Marktplatz Bestandteil des derzeitigen Marktes für KI wird. „Das Ziel ist, anhand der Daten verschiedene Szenarien aufzeigen zu können, wie das Geschäftsmodell des KI-Marktplatzes im Markt für KI besonders gut funktionieren kann“, sagt Ventecon-Gründer Marvin Wiest.

Mit Hilfe der Netzwerklandkarte sei es nun möglich, den Markt besser als zuvor zu verstehen, zu bewerten, gewinnbringende Business Cases zu identifizieren und Empfehlungen zur Operationalisierung abzuleiten. Doch das letzte Wort in der Geschäftsmodellentwicklung habe noch immer der Mensch.

„Wir möchten die menschliche Intelligenz nicht ersetzen, sondern mittels künstlicher Intelligenz erweitern“, erklärt Ventecon-Gründer Patrick Beckedorf. „So dass wir auch in einer volatilen, ungewissen, komplexen und mehrdeutigen Welt Vertrauen in unsere Geschäftsmodelle haben können.“

Weitere Informationen
www.ventecon.de
www.unity.de

News & Events

newsletter_ki-marktplatz

Neu: Der Newsletter für KI-Interessierte

Sie interessieren sich für den Einsatz von Künstlicher Intelligenz und den KI-Marktplatz? Dann tragen Sie sich für unseren neuen Newsletter ein.  Wir versorgen Sie viermal im Jahr mit aktuellen Informationen aus dem KI-Marktplatz.

Thumbnail_Umfrage-1

Jetzt den KI-Marktplatz mitgestalten – Umfrage zu Use Cases

Bereits in dieser Phase unseres Projekts können Sie am Aufbau der Plattform teilhaben. Für eine erste Priorisierung der gesammelten Funktionalitäten bitten wir Sie daher, an einer kurzen Umfrage teilzunehmen.

1

📅 Wie KI die Produktentstehung revolutionieren kann

Mit der monatlichen Reihe »AI2GO« bietet KI.NRW ein digitales Austauschformat zum Einsatz von KI. Diesmal zu Gast: Marc Foullois vom Fraunhofer IEM.

3

📅 Mit KI die Produkte von morgen entwickeln​

In dieser Veranstaltung werden Angebote und Perspektiven des KI-Marktplatzes präsentiert. An Anwendungsbeispielen werden Wirkungen von KI in der Produktentstehung aufgezeigt.

Interview-KI-für-die-Produktentstehung-–-Erfolgsrezept-des-KI-Marktplatzes

Interview: Das Erfolgsrezept des KI-Marktplatzes

Was verbirgt sich hinter dem Begriff Produktentstehung, und warum ist KI dabei von hoher Bedeutung ist? Marc Foullois, wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Fraunhofer IEM, weiß Antworten.

IDSA-LIVE-SESSION

📅 IDSA LIVE SESSION: Willkommen im KI-Marktplatz

In der IDSA LIVE SESSION informieren vier Experten über die Themenfelder Künstliche Intelligenz, digitale Plattformen und Wirtschaft 4.0. Auch der KI-Marktplatz ist Bestandteil des Programms.

Datensouveränität-und-Dateninfrastrukturen

Datensouveränität und Dateninfrastrukturen

In der Webkonferenz wird über die Möglichkeiten der Datensouveränität und von Dateninfrastrukturen auf nationaler und europäischer Ebene diskutiert. Ein Referenzprojekt ist hier der KI-Marktplatz.

2

📅 Vortrag: KI in der Produktentstehung und KI-Marktplatz

Am 11. Mai 2020 berichtet Leon Özcan vom Heinz Nixdorf Institut in einem Vortrag über Künstliche Intelligenz in der Produktenstehung und das Projekt KI-Marktplatz.

KI-Marktplatz-auf-der-IDSA-Virtual-Expo

📅 KI-Marktplatz auf der IDSA Virtual Expo

Vom 20. April bis 15. Mai 2020 veranstaltet die IDSA eine digitale Messe. Auch der KI-Marktplatz kann bei einem digitalen Rundgang besucht werden.

Kickoff.KI-Marktplatzv3_neues_Logo

So lief der Kick-off vom KI-Marktplatz

Mit dem Beginn einer neuen Dekade ist auch eine zukunftsweisende Initiative gestartet – der KI-Marktplatz. Über 60 Teilnehmer waren bei der Kickoff-Veranstaltung im Heinz Nixdorf Institut am 25.02. vertreten.

csm_Kickoff.KI-Marktplatz.25.02_Web__9_von_29__143c80a093

KI-Marktplatz: Das sind die sieben Pilotprojekte

Beim Kick-off am 25. Februar 2020 am Heinz Nixdorf Institut geben sieben Partner erstmals Einblicke in ihre Pilotprojekte zum Thema KI in der Produktentstehung.