Interview: AI for product development – recipe for success of the AI Marketplace

The AI Marketplace was launched in January 2020 with the aim of establishing an ecosystem and a platform of the same name for artificial intelligence (AI) in product creation. Marc Foullois, research associate at the Fraunhofer-Institute for Mechatronic Systems Design IEM, explains in detail what is behind the term product creation and why AI is of particular importance in product creation.

What is the AI Marketplace?

In the AI Marketplace we are working on a digital platform that brings together AI experts, solution providers and manufacturing companies. This platform will be successively expanded to include functionalities that will enable us to jointly develop AI solutions for product creation and supply. At the same time, an innovation ecosystem of stakeholders for artificial intelligence in product creation will be established.

In the AI Marketplace, product creation is thus a thematic focus. Why?

This is absolutely obvious to us, since many project partners, such as the Heinz Nixdorf Institute, prostep ivip, the Fraunhofer IPK and also the Fraunhofer IEM, have many years of experience in the field of product creation. However, our motivation also stems from the fact that until recently, product development has received very little attention in research in the field of artificial intelligence. For this reason, a strong consortium has been formed, which brings comprehensive expertise in the field of AI, product creation and related areas.

How would you explain product creation?

Product creation describes all activities from the idea of a product to the start of production (SoP). This includes different areas such as strategic product planning, product development, service development and production system planning. In addition, there are also other cross-sectional processes such as PLM or quality management.

Does this mean that product creation and product development are not the same?

Exactly, in contrast to product creation, which describes the activities from the idea to the SoP as described above, product development is to be understood as the part of product creation that develops the technical solution. Product creation is classically described with the V-Modell, which is a process model. This starts at the top left of the “V” with the requirements for the system to be developed, followed by the development phases system design, where the system is conceptualized, the, domain-specific design, where the work is carried out in the different disciplines such as mechanics, electrical engineering and software, and the system integration and the verification and validation of the system, which results in a fully developed product. Accordingly, product development is an essential part of product creation, but is not equal to it.

Artificial intelligence seems to be the panacea for the industry. What potential do you see for product development?

This does not come out of the blue at all. There are now some studies that predict enormous potential for product creation. Reduction of development costs by up to 15%, shortening of time-to-market by up to 50% and an increase in productivity of 0.8 to 1.4%, to name just a few of the figures. But these studies should be treated with caution. Concrete challenges posed by AI applications must be solved or supported and the added value of these applications must be determined. Only then can we evaluate whether the forecasts are realistic.

And how should artificial intelligence be implemented in product creation?

The important thing here is to expand our expertise. We are talking about a field in which up to now almost exclusively research institutes and corporations such as IBM and Google have been active. Manufacturing companies should not claim to be the only ones active in this field. Such research projects like the AI Marketplace offer companies the opportunity to gain experience with AI applications. The areas of application range from AI-supported service engineering to automatic labeling of video data and AI-supported feasibility studies. Furthermore, the partners also have the opportunity to initiate cooperations for future AI projects. In the AI Marketplace, we strive to create an ecosystem of stakeholders around a platform, so that providers and users are brought together beyond the project framework.

 

 

News & Events

Beitragsbilder_EBDVF

European Big Data Value Forum

The European Big Data Value Forum (EBDVF) is the flagship of European Big Data and data-driven AI research and innovation. The AI Marketplace is there as a co-exhibitor.

Beitragsbild_SPS

CANCELLED: SPS – smart production solutions

CANCELLED: The SPS represents the complete spectrum of smart and digital automation, and so the AI Marketplace will also be represented with a presentation as part of the VDMA/ZVEI Forum.

alexanderschulz

Talking with… Dr. Alexander Schulz

The vision of the AI Marketplace is to significantly increase the quality and efficiency of product creation processes through the use of artificial intelligence. But […]

Beitragsbild Hinterland Hack

Hinterland Hack brings new ideas for the AI Marketplace

Seven companies, over 60 participants, 48 hours of hacking and 5,000 euros for the winning team – that's the Hinterland Hack 2021 in a nutshell. Also there as a challenge owner – the AI Marketplace.

4

📅 AI Day – How AI redesigns Product Creation

Artificial intelligence (AI) in product creation holds great potential for economic growth and increased productivity. The AI Day hosted by it's OWL and prostep ivip will demonstrate concrete examples.

Beitragsbild_Paper

AI in product creation – what does current research say?

Where is artificial intelligence used in product creation and where is it suitable to work with data-centric methods? By analyzing 40 existing studies and 94 […]

3

📅 AI Marketplace meets UNITY

The virtual event “AI Marketplace meets UNITY” focuses on the potentials and challenges in the use of AI solutions from our customer environment. In addition to an impulse for building an AI strategy and good practices for the development of data-driven products, the success story “ServiceNavigator” will also be highlighted.

6

📅 Hinterland Hack 2021

Build your business model for a real industry challenge. Validate your business case in 48 hours. Partner with global players of German Mittelstand and get your startup on the grid. Apply now and make it happen!

7

📅 Inside it's OWL: AI Marketplace

Get to know the challenges, potentials and interim results of artificial intelligence and product creation and discuss fields of application and implementation possibilities in the real environment with experts from science and business.

5

📅 AI Marketplace meets IDSA

The upcoming virtual event “AI Marketplace Meets IDSA” is all about data spaces and will be co-hosted by the AI Marketplace and the International Data Spaces Association.

Beitragsbild Whitepaper

FIWARE Whitepaper: AI Marketplace as a showcase for Digital Transformation

A white paper of our partner FIWARE Foundation focusses on the role played by artificial intelligence (AI) in shaping the future experience of Smart Cities. It also showcases projects such as the AI Marketplace and how they are introducing the relevant framework for the creation of data spaces.

Datathon_Winner_2

AI Marketplace and AI Living Lab celebrate successful datathon premiere

“Turning data into gold” – that was the credo of the Industrial Datathon , jointly organized by the AI Marketplace and the AI Living Lab. Around 30 heads raced last week to solve real challenges from industry. The win – an implementation project in the AI Real Lab – came as a surprise to the winning team.

Interview: Das Erfolgsrezept des KI-Marktplatzes

Der KI-Marktplatz ist im Januar 2020 mit dem Ziel gestartet, ein Ökosystem und eine gleichnamige Plattform für Künstliche Intelligenz (KI) in der Produktentstehung aufzubauen. Was sich im Detail hinter dem Begriff Produktentstehung verbirgt, und warum KI insbesondere in der Produktentstehung von hoher Bedeutung ist, erklärt Marc Foullois, wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Fraunhofer-Institut für Entwurfstechnik Mechatronik IEM.

Was ist der KI-Marktplatz?

Im KI-Marktplatz arbeiten wir an einer digitalen Plattform, die KI-Experten, Lösungsanbieter und produzierende Unternehmen zusammenbringt. Diese Plattform wird sukzessive um Funktionalitäten erweitert, mit denen wir eine gemeinsame Entwicklung von KI-Lösungen für die Produktentstehung sowie deren Bereitstellung ermöglichen. Gleichzeitig soll ein Innovationsökosystem aus Stakeholdern für Künstliche Intelligenz in der Produktentstehung aufgebaut werden.

Im KI-Marktplatz bildet die Produktentstehung also einen thematischen Schwerpunkt. Warum?

Das ist für uns absolut naheliegend, da viele Projektpartner, wie das Heinz Nixdorf Institut, prostep ivip, das Fraunhofer IPK und auch das Fraunhofer IEM, langjährige Erfahrung im Bereich der Produktentstehung haben. Allerdings rührt unsere Motivation auch daher, dass die Produktentstehung bis vor kurzem sehr wenig Beachtung in der Forschung im Bereich der Künstlichen Intelligenz gefunden hat. Aus diesem Grund wurde ein starkes Konsortium zusammengestellt, das umfassende Kompetenzen auf dem Gebiet der KI, Produktentstehung und verwandter Bereiche mitbringt.

Wie würden Sie Produktentstehung erklären?

Die Produktentstehung beschreibt alle Tätigkeiten von der Idee eines Produktes bis hin zum Start-of-Production (SoP). Dies schließt unterschiedliche Bereiche, wie die strategische Produktplanung, Produktentwicklung, Dienstleistungsentwicklung und Produktionssystemplanung ein. Darüber hinaus gibt auch noch weitere Querschnittsprozesse wie das PLM oder das Qualitätsmanagement.

Das bedeutet, das Produktentstehung und Produktentwicklung nicht gleichzusetzen sind?

Genau, im Gegensatz zu der Produktentstehung, die wie vorher beschrieben die Tätigkeiten von der Idee bis zum SoP beschreibt, ist die Produktentwicklung als den Teil der Produktentstehung zu verstehen, der die technische Lösung erarbeitet. Die Produktentwicklung wird klassischerweise mit dem V-Modell beschrieben, das einen Vorgehensmodell darstellt. Dies startet Links oben im „V“ mit den Anforderungen an das zu entwickelnde System, gefolgt von den Entwicklungsphasen Systementwurfs, bei der die Konzipierung des Systems vorgenommen wird, de, domänenspezifischen Entwurf, bei der die Erarbeitung in den verschiedenen Disziplinen wie Mechanik, Elektrotechnik und Software erfolgt und der Systemintegration und der Verifikation und Validierung des Systems, an dessen Ende ein vollständig entwickeltes Produkt steht. Die Produktentwicklung stellt dementsprechend einen wesentlichen Teil der Produktentstehung dar, ist ihr aber nicht gleichzusetzen.

Künstliche Intelligenz scheint das Allheilmittel für die Industrie zu sein. Welche Potenziale sehen Sie für die Produktentstehung?

Das kommt auch nicht von ungefähr. Es gibt inzwischen einige Studien, die enorme Potenziale für die Produktentstehung vorhersagen. Reduzierung der Entwicklungskosten um bis zu 15%, Verkürzung der Time-to-market um bis zu 50% und eine Produktivitätssteigerung von 0,8 bis 1,4%, um nur einige der Zahlen zu nennen. Doch diese Studien sind mit Vorsicht zu genießen. Es gilt, konkrete Herausforderungen durch KI-Anwendungen zu lösen oder zu unterstützen und den Mehrwert dieser Anwendungen zu bestimmen. Erst dann können wir evaluieren, ob die Prognosen realistisch sind.

Und wie soll die Künstliche Intelligenz nun in der Produktentstehung umgesetzt werden?

Wichtig ist hier die Kompetenzerweiterung. Wir reden hier von einem Feld, auf dem bisher fast ausschließlichen Forschungsinstitute und Konzerne wie IBM und Google aktiv waren. Unternehmen des produzierenden Gewerbes sollten nicht den Anspruch haben, hier alleine tätig zu werden. Solche Forschungsprojekte wie der KI-Marktplatz bieten Unternehmen die Möglichkeit Erfahrungen mit KI-Anwendungen zu machen. Die Anwendungsbereiche reichen dabei von KI-gestütztem Service Engineering über das automatische Labeling von Video Daten bis hin zu einer KI-gestützten Herstellbarkeitsanalyse. Darüber hinaus bietet sich den Partnern ebenfalls die Möglichkeit Kooperationen für künftige KI-Projekte anzustoßen. Wir streben im KI-Marktplatz ein Ökosystem aus Stakeholdern rund um eine Plattform an, sodass Anbieter und Anwender auch über den Projektrahmen hinaus zusammengebracht werden.

Weitere Experteninterviews gibt es hier:

Ulrich Ahle, FIWARE Foundation
Ruslan Bernijazov, Fraunhofer IEM
Chris Baisch, UNITY AG
Alain Pfouga, prostep ivip

 

 

News & Events

alexanderschulz

Experten im Gespräch: Dr. Alexander Schulz

Die Vision des KI-Marktplatzes ist es, die Qualität und Effizienz von Produktentstehungsprozessen durch den Einsatz Künstlicher Intelligenz deutlich zu steigern. Was verbirgt sich jedoch eigentlich […]

Beitragsbild Hinterland Hack

Hinterland Hack bringt neue Ideen für den KI-Marktplatz

Sieben Unternehmen, über 60 Teilnehmer:innen, 48 Stunden hacken und 5.000 Euro für das Gewinnerteam – das ist die Bilanz des Hinterland Hack 2021. Als Challengeber mit dabei – der KI-Marktplatz.

📅 AI Day – Wie KI die Produktentstehung revolutioniert

Künstliche Intelligenz (KI) in der Produktentstehung birgt großes Potenzial für Wirtschaftswachstum und Produktivitätssteigerung. Der AI Day von it’s OWL und prostep ivip zeigt konkrete Potenziale auf.

KIM_trifft_inno-focus

📅 KI-Marktplatz trifft inno-focus

Die virtuelle Veranstaltung „KI-Marktplatz trifft inno-focus“ beleuchtet den Mehrwert von Plattform vor dem Hintergrund von KI und Industrie 4.0.

Beitragsbild_Paper

KI in der Produktentstehung – was sagt die aktuelle Forschung?

Wo wird Künstliche Intelligenz in der Produktentstehung genutzt und wo eignet sich die Arbeit mit datenzentrierte Methoden? Durch die Analyse von 40 bestehenden Studien und […]

KI Marktplatz trifft UNITY final

📅 KI-Marktplatz trifft UNITY

Die virtuelle Veranstaltung „KI-Marktplatz trifft UNITY“ legt ihren Fokus auf die Potentiale und Herausforderungen in der Nutzung von KI-Lösungen aus unserem Kundenumfeld.

📅 Hinterland Hack 2021

Erstelle dein Geschäftsmodell für eine reale Herausforderung der Branche. Validier' deinen Business Case in 48 Stunden. Geh' eine Partnerschaft mit Global Playern des deutschen Mittelstands ein und bring' dein Startup an den Start. Bewirb dich jetzt und lass es krachen.

Beitragsbild Website

📅 Inside it's OWL: KI-Marktplatz

Die virtuelle Vortragsreihe ‚Inside it’s OWL‘ bietet Vertreter:innen aus Unternehmen, Forschungseinrichtungen und wirtschaftsnahen Organisationen die Möglichkeit, sich über Ansätze und Erfahrungen aus den Projekten zu informieren – diesmal mit dem KI-Marktplatz.

Beitragsbild_AIM_IDSA

📅 KI-Marktplatz trifft IDSA

Die kommende virtuelle Veranstaltung „KI-Marktplatz trifft IDSA“ steht ganz im Zeichen von Datenräumen und wird gemeinsam vom KI-Marktplatz und der International Data Spaces Association veranstaltet. Mit dabei ist auch die Niederländische Organisation für Angewandte Naturwissenschaftliche Forschung, kurz TNO.

FIWARE Whitepaper: Der KI-Marktplatz als Schaufenster für die digitale Transformation

Ein Whitepaper unseres Partners FIWARE Foundation befasst sich mit der Rolle, die künstliche Intelligenz (KI) bei der Gestaltung der zukünftigen Erfahrung von Smart Cities spielt. Es stellt den KI-Marktplatz vor und zeigt, wie das Projekt den entsprechenden Rahmen für den Aufbau eines Datenraums schafft.

Datathon_Winner_2

KI-Marktplatz und KI Reallabor feiern erfolgreiche Datathon-Premiere

„Aus Daten Gold machen“ – so lautete das Credo des Industrial Datathons , der gemeinsam vom KI-Marktplatz und dem KI-Reallabor organisiert wurde. Rund 30 Köpfe rauchten in der vergangenen Woche, um reale Herausforderungen aus der Industrie lösen. Der Gewinn – ein Umsetzungsprojekt im KI-Reallabor – kam für das Siegerteam überraschend.

Ökosystem_hell

Mehr als eine Plattform – KI-Angebote für den Mittelstand

Analysen, Quick-Checks und Experten-Feedback: Nutzen Sie unsere kostenlosen KI-Angebote für Ihr Unternehmen. Schon jetzt gibt es kostenlose Services, mit denen insbesondere kleine und mittlere Unternehmen die Potenziale von Künstlicher Intelligenz (KI) in diesem Bereich erschließen können.