Talking with… Dr. Alexander Schulz

The vision of the AI Marketplace is to significantly increase the quality and efficiency of product creation processes through the use of artificial intelligence. But what exactly does the term Artificial Intelligence mean? And what opportunities does the AI Marketplace offer for AI providers and companies? Dr. Alexander Schulz (CITEC) provides the answers.

Dr. Alexander Schulz, what exactly do you do and what is your connection to artificial intelligence?
I am Alexander Schulz and work as a PostDoc at Bielefeld University at CITEC, the Center for Cognitive Interaction Technology. I am there in the research group on machine learning, which is about automatically learning contexts from data. This is an essential aspect of artificial intelligence (AI).

What exactly is AI?
There are various definitions. One common one defines AI as the science of creating intelligent machines or computer programs. Then, of course, there is the question of intelligence, which is more difficult to define. Often this is understood in terms of goal-oriented problem-solving abilities of humans. Here, interestingly enough, the so-called “AI effect” can be observed, in which activities that used to be considered intelligent are denied this as soon as they can be realized by a technical system. Examples of this are character recognition or playing chess at a professional level.

What services are being developed in the AI Marketplace for AI providers?
Since the AI Marketplace places a special focus on applications in product development, the services developed are located precisely at the interface between AI and product development. On the one hand, these include information about possible applications of AI in product creation in the form of exemplary challenges or as a potential map. Information about data structures that are frequently used in product creation and are not always directly known to AI providers is also part of the service spectrum. Both the challenges and the potential map have already been designed and are constantly being expanded. The information on data structures is currently in the design phase.

Furthermore, the consortium is developing an algorithm for matching providers and users. This algorithm itself uses artificial intelligence methods to determine, based on a new query, which categories of AI processes (e.g., natural language processing) are particularly relevant to the query. Based on such an assignment, companies that have particular expertise in one of these categories can then be suggested to users.

This algorithm is already at a deployable stage and is about to be transferred to the platform.

So what exactly do companies get out of it?
Here, of course, the transfer of research must be mentioned: We integrate new methods that have proven particularly promising in research into the AI Marketplace so that they can be reused in further processing pipelines. In this way, AI-providing companies can also benefit directly from research.

One particularly relevant aspect is, of course, the marketplace itself, which will implement a service store and an app store. Here, AI providers will have the opportunity to present their services and solutions and thus specifically address customers from the industrial environment. This gives them a new channel for targeted customer acquisition.

These marketplace concepts have been designed and are currently in the implementation phase. We expect availability on the platform in the course of 2022.

Would you like to make the potential of AI in product creation accessible to your company as well?
The AI Marketplace offers a wide range of services, from potential analyses on concrete potential benefits of AI, to the AI Readiness Check, which determines the current state of your company’s digitization, to data check-ups, in which the AI Marketplace team helps you optimize data governance. In addition, as a partner of the AI Marketplace, you can gain direct access to the offerings and research results from the project through our partner program.

Check here how you can benefit from the AI Marketplace

More expert interviews are available here:

Marc Foullois, Fraunhofer IEM
Ulrich Ahle, FIWARE Foundation
Chris Baisch, UNITY AG
Alain Pfouga, prostep ivip
Christoph Mertens, IDSA
Ruslan Bernijazov, Fraunhofer IEM

 

News & Events

Beitragsbilder_EBDVF

European Big Data Value Forum

The European Big Data Value Forum (EBDVF) is the flagship of European Big Data and data-driven AI research and innovation. The AI Marketplace is there as a co-exhibitor.

Beitragsbild_SPS

CANCELLED: SPS – smart production solutions

CANCELLED: The SPS represents the complete spectrum of smart and digital automation, and so the AI Marketplace will also be represented with a presentation as part of the VDMA/ZVEI Forum.

Beitragsbild Hinterland Hack

Hinterland Hack brings new ideas for the AI Marketplace

Seven companies, over 60 participants, 48 hours of hacking and 5,000 euros for the winning team – that's the Hinterland Hack 2021 in a nutshell. Also there as a challenge owner – the AI Marketplace.

4

📅 AI Day – How AI redesigns Product Creation

Artificial intelligence (AI) in product creation holds great potential for economic growth and increased productivity. The AI Day hosted by it's OWL and prostep ivip will demonstrate concrete examples.

Beitragsbild_Paper

AI in product creation – what does current research say?

Where is artificial intelligence used in product creation and where is it suitable to work with data-centric methods? By analyzing 40 existing studies and 94 […]

3

📅 AI Marketplace meets UNITY

The virtual event “AI Marketplace meets UNITY” focuses on the potentials and challenges in the use of AI solutions from our customer environment. In addition to an impulse for building an AI strategy and good practices for the development of data-driven products, the success story “ServiceNavigator” will also be highlighted.

6

📅 Hinterland Hack 2021

Build your business model for a real industry challenge. Validate your business case in 48 hours. Partner with global players of German Mittelstand and get your startup on the grid. Apply now and make it happen!

7

📅 Inside it's OWL: AI Marketplace

Get to know the challenges, potentials and interim results of artificial intelligence and product creation and discuss fields of application and implementation possibilities in the real environment with experts from science and business.

5

📅 AI Marketplace meets IDSA

The upcoming virtual event “AI Marketplace Meets IDSA” is all about data spaces and will be co-hosted by the AI Marketplace and the International Data Spaces Association.

Beitragsbild Whitepaper

FIWARE Whitepaper: AI Marketplace as a showcase for Digital Transformation

A white paper of our partner FIWARE Foundation focusses on the role played by artificial intelligence (AI) in shaping the future experience of Smart Cities. It also showcases projects such as the AI Marketplace and how they are introducing the relevant framework for the creation of data spaces.

Datathon_Winner_2

AI Marketplace and AI Living Lab celebrate successful datathon premiere

“Turning data into gold” – that was the credo of the Industrial Datathon , jointly organized by the AI Marketplace and the AI Living Lab. Around 30 heads raced last week to solve real challenges from industry. The win – an implementation project in the AI Real Lab – came as a surprise to the winning team.

Ökosystem_hell

More than a platform – AI offerings for SMEs

Analyses, quick checks and expert feedback: Take advantage of our free AI offerings for your company. There are already free services that small and medium-sized companies in particular can use to tap the potential of artificial intelligence (AI) in product creation.

Experten im Gespräch: Dr. Alexander Schulz

Die Vision des KI-Marktplatzes ist es, die Qualität und Effizienz von Produktentstehungsprozessen durch den Einsatz Künstlicher Intelligenz deutlich zu steigern. Was verbirgt sich jedoch eigentlich genau hinter dem Begriff der Künstlichen Intelligenz? Und welche Möglichkeiten bietet der KI-Marktplatz für KI-Anbieter:innen als auch für Unternehmen? Dr. Alexander Schulz (CITEC) liefert die Antworten.

Dr. Alexander Schulz, was machen Sie genau und welche Verbindung haben Sie zur künstlichen Intelligenz?
Ich bin Alexander Schulz und arbeite als PostDoc an der Universität Bielefeld am CITEC, dem Center for Cognitive Interaction Technology. Ich bin dort in der Arbeitsgruppe zu maschinellem Lernen, bei dem es um das automatische Lernen von Zusammenhängen aus Daten geht. Dieses ist ein wesentlicher Aspekt der künstlichen Intelligenz (KI).

Was genau ist eigentlich KI?
Da gibt es verschiedene Definitionen. Eine Gebräuchliche definiert KI als die Wissenschaft der Erzeugung intelligenter Maschinen beziehungsweise Computerprogramme. Dann stellt sich natürlich die Frage nach der Intelligenz, die schwieriger zu fassen ist. Oft wird diese in Anlehnung an zielorientierte Lösungsfähigkeiten von Menschen verstanden. Hier lässt sich interessanterweise der sogenannte „KI-Effekt“ beobachten, bei dem Tätigkeiten, die früher als intelligent galten, dieses abgesprochen bekommen, sobald sie von einem technischen System realisiert werden können. Beispiele hierfür sind die Schriftzeichenerkennung oder das Spielen von Schach auf professionellem Niveau.

Welche Services werden im KI-Marktplatz für KI-Anbieter:innen entwickelt?
Da der KI-Marktplatz einen besonderen Fokus auf Anwendungen in der Produktentstehung legt, befinden sich die entwickelten Services genau an der Schnittstelle zwischen KI und Produktentstehung. Diese umfassen zum einen Informationen über Einsatzmöglichkeiten von KI in der Produktentstehung in Form von exemplarischen Herausforderungen oder als Potenziallandkarte. Auch Informationen über Datenstrukturen, die in der Produktentstehung häufig eingesetzt werden und KI-Anbieter:innen nicht immer unmittelbar bekannt sind, sind Teil des Service-Spektrums. Sowohl die Herausforderungen als auch die Potentiallandkarte sind bereits konzipiert und werden stetig weiter ausgebaut. Die Informationen zu den Datenstrukturen befinden sich zur Zeit in der Konzipierungsphase.

Zum anderen entwickelt das Konsortium einen Algorithmus zum Zusammenführen von Anbieter:innen und Anwendern. Dieser Algorithmus verwendet selbst Methoden der künstlichen Intelligenz, um anhand einer neuen Anfrage zu ermitteln, welche Kategorien von KI-Verfahren (zum Beispiel Verarbeitung natürlicher Sprache) für die Anfrage besonders relevant sind. Auf Basis einer solchen Zuordnung können dann Unternehmen, die eine besondere Expertise in einer dieser Kategorien haben, den Anwenderinnen vorgeschlagen werden.

Dieser Algorithmus ist bereits in einem einsetzbaren Stadium und steht kurz davor, auf die Plattform übertragen zu werden.

Und was haben Unternehmen nun genau davon?
Hier muss natürlich der Forschungstransfer genannt werden: Wir integrieren neue Verfahren, die sich in der Forschung als besonders vielversprechend erwiesen haben, im KI-Marktplatz, sodass diese in weiteren Verarbeitungspipelines wiederverwendet werden können. So können KI-anbietende Unternehmen unmittelbar auch von der Forschung profitieren.

Ein besonders relevanter Aspekt ist dabei natürlich der Marktplatz selbst, der einen Service- und einen App-Store implementieren wird. Hier haben KI-Anbieter:innen die Möglichkeit, ihre Dienstleistungen und Lösungen zu präsentieren und damit gezielt Kunden aus dem Industrieumfeld anzusprechen. Damit erhalten sie einen neuen Kanal zur gezielten Kundenakquise.

Diese Marktplatzkonzepte sind entworfen und befinden sich zur Zeit in der Implementierungsphase. Wir rechnen mit einer Verfügbarkeit auf der Plattform im Laufe des Jahres 2022.

So können Sie vom KI-Marktplatz profitieren

 

Weitere Experteninterviews gibt es hier:

Marc Foullois, Fraunhofer IEM
Ulrich Ahle, FIWARE Foundation
Chris Baisch, UNITY AG
Alain Pfouga, prostep ivip
Christoph Mertens, IDSA
Ruslan Bernijazov, Fraunhofer IEM

 

News & Events

Beitragsbild Hinterland Hack

Hinterland Hack bringt neue Ideen für den KI-Marktplatz

Sieben Unternehmen, über 60 Teilnehmer:innen, 48 Stunden hacken und 5.000 Euro für das Gewinnerteam – das ist die Bilanz des Hinterland Hack 2021. Als Challengeber mit dabei – der KI-Marktplatz.

📅 AI Day – Wie KI die Produktentstehung revolutioniert

Künstliche Intelligenz (KI) in der Produktentstehung birgt großes Potenzial für Wirtschaftswachstum und Produktivitätssteigerung. Der AI Day von it’s OWL und prostep ivip zeigt konkrete Potenziale auf.

KIM_trifft_inno-focus

📅 KI-Marktplatz trifft inno-focus

Die virtuelle Veranstaltung „KI-Marktplatz trifft inno-focus“ beleuchtet den Mehrwert von Plattform vor dem Hintergrund von KI und Industrie 4.0.

Beitragsbild_Paper

KI in der Produktentstehung – was sagt die aktuelle Forschung?

Wo wird Künstliche Intelligenz in der Produktentstehung genutzt und wo eignet sich die Arbeit mit datenzentrierte Methoden? Durch die Analyse von 40 bestehenden Studien und […]

KI Marktplatz trifft UNITY final

📅 KI-Marktplatz trifft UNITY

Die virtuelle Veranstaltung „KI-Marktplatz trifft UNITY“ legt ihren Fokus auf die Potentiale und Herausforderungen in der Nutzung von KI-Lösungen aus unserem Kundenumfeld.

📅 Hinterland Hack 2021

Erstelle dein Geschäftsmodell für eine reale Herausforderung der Branche. Validier' deinen Business Case in 48 Stunden. Geh' eine Partnerschaft mit Global Playern des deutschen Mittelstands ein und bring' dein Startup an den Start. Bewirb dich jetzt und lass es krachen.

Beitragsbild Website

📅 Inside it's OWL: KI-Marktplatz

Die virtuelle Vortragsreihe ‚Inside it’s OWL‘ bietet Vertreter:innen aus Unternehmen, Forschungseinrichtungen und wirtschaftsnahen Organisationen die Möglichkeit, sich über Ansätze und Erfahrungen aus den Projekten zu informieren – diesmal mit dem KI-Marktplatz.

Beitragsbild_AIM_IDSA

📅 KI-Marktplatz trifft IDSA

Die kommende virtuelle Veranstaltung „KI-Marktplatz trifft IDSA“ steht ganz im Zeichen von Datenräumen und wird gemeinsam vom KI-Marktplatz und der International Data Spaces Association veranstaltet. Mit dabei ist auch die Niederländische Organisation für Angewandte Naturwissenschaftliche Forschung, kurz TNO.

FIWARE Whitepaper: Der KI-Marktplatz als Schaufenster für die digitale Transformation

Ein Whitepaper unseres Partners FIWARE Foundation befasst sich mit der Rolle, die künstliche Intelligenz (KI) bei der Gestaltung der zukünftigen Erfahrung von Smart Cities spielt. Es stellt den KI-Marktplatz vor und zeigt, wie das Projekt den entsprechenden Rahmen für den Aufbau eines Datenraums schafft.

Datathon_Winner_2

KI-Marktplatz und KI Reallabor feiern erfolgreiche Datathon-Premiere

„Aus Daten Gold machen“ – so lautete das Credo des Industrial Datathons , der gemeinsam vom KI-Marktplatz und dem KI-Reallabor organisiert wurde. Rund 30 Köpfe rauchten in der vergangenen Woche, um reale Herausforderungen aus der Industrie lösen. Der Gewinn – ein Umsetzungsprojekt im KI-Reallabor – kam für das Siegerteam überraschend.

Ökosystem_hell

Mehr als eine Plattform – KI-Angebote für den Mittelstand

Analysen, Quick-Checks und Experten-Feedback: Nutzen Sie unsere kostenlosen KI-Angebote für Ihr Unternehmen. Schon jetzt gibt es kostenlose Services, mit denen insbesondere kleine und mittlere Unternehmen die Potenziale von Künstlicher Intelligenz (KI) in diesem Bereich erschließen können.

📅 KI-Marktplatz trifft FIWARE

Die virtuelle Veranstaltung „AI Marketplace meets FIWARE“, im Rahmen des FIWARE AI DAY, wird sich darauf konzentrieren, wie Open-Source-basierte KI-Marktplätze Vorteile für KI-Angebote erschließen können, insbesondere im Bereich der Produktentwicklung. Melden Sie sich jetzt an.